Volume. 11878

“The Past” receives nod at Critics’ Choice Movie Awards
PDF Print E-mail
Font Size Larger Font Smaller Font
Berenice Bejo (R) and Tahar Rahim act in a scene from “The Past”.
Berenice Bejo (R) and Tahar Rahim act in a scene from “The Past”.
TEHRAN – Iranian director Asghar Farhadi’s drama “The Past” has been nominated for the Best Foreign Language Film at the 19th Critics’ Choice Movie Awards 2013.
The nominations were announced in 13 categories for the awards on Monday.
The winners will be announced at the Barker Hangar at the Santa Monica Airport on January 16, the same day the Academy Awards will be announcing its nominations.   
Farhadi’s film will be competing with “Blue Is the Warmest Color” directed by French filmmaker Abdellatif Kechiche, “The Great Beauty” by Italian director Paolo Sorrentino, “The Hunt” by Danish filmmaker Thomas Vinterberg and “Wadjda” by Saudi-Arabian director Haifaa al-Mansour.
Starring Berenice Bejo, “The Past” is Farhadi’s first project done outside of his homeland.
The French-language film is about an Iranian man named Ahmad who returns to Paris from Tehran after a four-year separation upon his French wife Marie’s request in order to finalize their divorce.
Bejo won the Palme d’Or for best actress at the 66th annual Cannes Film Festival for her portrayal of the French woman.
Farhadi’s “A Separation” won an Oscar, a Golden Globe and a French César for best language foreign film earlier in 2012 as well as Berlin’s Golden Bear in 2011.
Since its inception in 1995, the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards has been a must-attend bellwether event of the movie awards season. 

rssfeed socializeit
Socialize this
Subscribe to our RSS feed to stay in touch and receive all of TT updates right in your feed reader
Twitter Facebook Myspace Stumbleupon Digg Technorati aol blogger google reddit