Volume. 12230
Leader names new members of Strategic Council for Foreign Policy
Print E-mail
Font Size Larger Font Smaller Font
c_330_235_16777215_0___images_stories_edim_139206131105505021099594(2).jpgTEHRAN – In a decree issued on Tuesday, Supreme Leader of the Islamic Revolution Ayatollah Ali Khamenei named the new members of the Strategic Council for Foreign Relations.

The decree was issued in a letter to Kamal Kharrazi, the current chairman of the council who served as foreign minister from 1997 to 2005.

The new members are Saeed Jalili, the former secretary of Supreme National Security Council (SNSC) who also led Iran’s nuclear negotiations with the major powers during the presidency of Mahmoud Ahmadinejad; Ebrahim Sheibani, the former governor of Iran’s central bank and Iran’s ambassador to Vienna; Hossein Taremi, the director of the Institute for Study of the Iranian Contemporary History; Mehdi Mostafavi, the former deputy foreign minister and former chairman of the Islamic Culture and Relations Organization; and Ahmad Vahidi, the former defense minister in the Ahmadinejad administration.

In his decree the Leader said, “In regard to past experiences and the role of the council in helping officials for making highly important decisions and using the views of highly talented people in this regard, it is hoped that in the new era we will witness a more active involvement of the council in duties tasked on it.”

SNSC Secretary Ali Shamkhani, Vice President for Executive Affairs Mohammad Shariatmadari, and chief of the Expediency Council Center for Strategic Research Ali Akbar Velayati were former member of the council.
rssfeed socializeit
Socialize this
Subscribe to our RSS feed to stay in touch and receive all of TT updates right in your feed reader
Twitter Facebook Myspace Stumbleupon Digg Technorati aol blogger google reddit