Iranian cineastes express solidarity with oppressed people of Gaza

December 31, 2008

TEHRAN -- Over 50 Iranian cinematic figures signed a petition against the recent Israeli attacks on the Gaza Strip and announced their support and sympathy for the oppressed people of Gaza on Monday.

The Public Relations Office of the House of Cinema published the text of the letter as following:
“Gaza is alive, because its people are standing tall despite the millions of bombs and bullets. They will not give in. Gaza will remain alive, though its bird nests are on fire and its children are in a deep sleep, lying dead. Gaza will remain alive forever, because the bereavement of its mothers is the grief of mothers everywhere all around the world.
“In this regard, we the artists from the cinema of Iran feel like a water drop merging with the roaring sea of free-thinking people and put our hands in the wounded hands of the people of Gaza. We will stay beside them to witness their victory and their happy teardrops rolling down their wounded faces.
“On these sweet days of celebrating the birth of Jesus Christ and the New Year, we ask all the world’s assemblies and all free-thinking people to send a message of peace and friendship from the divine prophets to the entire world in support of the people of Gaza.”
The petition has been signed by the following: Ezzatollah Entezami, Abbas Kiarostami, Rakhshan Bani-Etemad, Dariush Mehrjuii, Majid Majidi, Seifollah Daad, Bahman Farmanara, Ahmadreza Darvish, Ebrahim Hatamikia, Mehdi Fakhimzadeh, Kamal Tabrizi, Mohammadreza Honarmand, Mojtaba Raei, Alireza Raiisian, Reza Mirkarimi, Javad Shamaqdari, Jamal Shurjeh, Mohammad-Mehdi Asgarpur, Abdolhassan Barzideh, Homayun Asadian, Mohammad-Hossein Haqiqi, Parviz Parastuii, Davud Rashidi, Dariush Arjomand, and Amin Tarokh.
Alireza Khamseh, Habib Dehqan-Nasab, Ali Mosaffa, Manuchehr Mohammadi, Fereshteh Taerpur, Harun Yashayaii, Mohammad-Mehdi Daadgu, Ali Ashtianipur, Farhad Tohidi, Mohammadreza Sokut, Morteza Razzaq-Karimi, Kamran Maleki, Mohammad Sarir, Ebrahim Mokhtari, Ebrahim Haqiqi, Shadmehr Rastin, Javad Tusi, Shahram Jafari, Bahram Badakhshani, Hafez Ahmadi, Mohsen Roshan, Mohammadreza Delpak, Iraj Raminfar, Moharram Zeinalzadeh, Asghar Purhajian, Mohammad Davudi, Ahmad Talebinejad, Turaj Mansuri, Leila Hatami, Mohammadreza Sharafoddin, Habib Ahmadzadeh, and Mahin Navidi.
More signatures are being added to the petition.
In addition, Tehran cinema halls and the Tehran Museum of Contemporary Art are dedicating their one-day ticket sales on Wednesday to the benefit of the people of Gaza.