American “Lost” to join Iran’s home video collections

September 12, 2009

TEHRAN -- The American TV serial drama “Lost” will soon join Iran’s home video collections as soon as the distribution license is granted.

Director of the Silver Screen Institute Hojjat Hatam said that the first three seasons of the TV series have been dubbed by veterans and were submitted to the Department of Cinematic Affairs of the Ministry of Culture and Islamic Guidance for a distribution license, the Public Relations Office of the institute reported.
“Lost” follows the lives of plane crash survivors on a mysterious tropical island, after a commercial passenger jet flying between Sydney, Australia, and Los Angeles, United States, crashes somewhere in the South Pacific.
Hatam added that the team is working on its fourth season and Shahla Nazerian, Manuchehr Valizadeh, Fariba Ramezanpur, Hossein Erfani and Nader Keimaram are among the dubbing members of the team.
In the series, each episode typically features a primary storyline on the island as well as a secondary storyline from another point in a character’s life, though other time-related plot devices change this formula in later episodes.
The pilot episode was first broadcast on September 22, 2004, and since then five full seasons have been aired. The show airs on the ABC Network in the United States, as well as on regional networks in many other countries.
Due to its large cast and the cost of filming primarily on location in Oahu, Hawaii, the series is one of the most expensive on television. It was created by Damon Lindelof, J. J. Abrams and Jeffrey Lieber and is produced by ABC Studios, Bad Robot Productions and Grass Skirt Productions.
Critically acclaimed and a popular success, “Lost” garnered an average of 16 million viewers per episode on ABC during its first year. It has won numerous industry awards including the Emmy Award for Outstanding Drama Series in 2005, Best American Import at the British Academy Television Awards in 2005, the Golden Globe for Best Drama in 2006 and a Screen Actors Guild Award for Outstanding Ensemble in a Drama Series.