Volume. 12227

Larijani re-elected Majlis speaker
PDF Print E-mail
Font Size Larger Font Smaller Font
c_330_235_16777215_0___images_stories_edim_02_na3(16).jpgTEHRAN – Ali Larijani has been re-elected as Majlis speaker, winning 187 votes out of 264 votes in an open session of the parliament on Sunday.
Two other candidates, Ahmad Bakhshayesh and Bahram Biranvand, received 32 and 26 votes respectively.
19 lawmakers refrained from voting.
Mohammad-Hassan Aboutorabi-Fard received 203 votes from 270 and elected as the first deputy Majlis speaker.
Mohammad-Reza Bahonar was elected as the second deputy Majlis speaker, winning 144 votes out of 270 ones.
Larijani has been Iran’s parliament speaker since the 8th Majlis started in 2008.
Iran’s ninth Majlis was inaugurated in May 2012.

rssfeed socializeit
Socialize this
Subscribe to our RSS feed to stay in touch and receive all of TT updates right in your feed reader
Twitter Facebook Myspace Stumbleupon Digg Technorati aol blogger google reddit