Volume. 12229

Principlists secure most parliamentary seats in second round
PDF Print E-mail
Font Size Larger Font Smaller Font
c_330_235_16777215_0___images_stories_may02_06_02_ep1.jpgTEHRAN -- Official results of Iran’s run-off parliamentary election, which was held on May 4, were announced on Saturday. 
As in the first round, the main competition was between the candidates representing the United Front of Principlists and the Islamic Revolution Resistance Front. 
And the candidates fielded by the United Front of Principlists won most of the seats as they did in the first round. 
The candidates who have been elected to the 290-member parliament will serve a four-year term. 
The winners of 225 seats were determined in the first round of the parliamentary election, which was held on March 2, and 130 candidates contested for the remaining 65 seats in the run-off held in 33 constituencies in 18 provinces, including the capital Tehran. 
According to the law, each candidate must win a fourth of the votes in his or her constituency to be elected as a lawmaker in the first round. 
In the campaign for the 30 seats in Tehran, five candidates were elected to the parliament in the March 2 election.
The five candidates were Gholam Ali Hadad-Adel, Ali Reza Marandi, Mohammad Hassan Aboutorabifard, Morteza Agha Tehrani, and Massoud Mirkazemi.
Haddad-Adel and Aboutorabifard represented the United Front of Principlists in the election. 
Agha Tehrani was fielded by the Islamic Revolution Resistance Front. 
And Marandi and Mirkazemi were put on the candidate lists of both fronts. 
Following is the list of the candidates who won seats in the parliament from the Tehran constituency in the second round:

1. Bijan Nobaveh
2. Esmail Kowsari
3. Ali Motahhari
4. Mahmoud Nabavian
5. Ahmad Tavakkoli
6. Mohammad Reza Bahonar
7. Seyyed Mehdi Hashemi
8. Ali Asghar Zareii
9. Fatemeh Rahbar
10. Ali Reza Zakani
11. Zohreh Tabibzadeh
12. Ruhollah Hosseinian
13. Hossein Mozaffar
14. Fatemeh Alia
15. Mahdi Kouchekzadeh
16. Gholamreza Mesbahi Moqaddam
17. Laleh Eftekhari
18. Mohammad Soleimani
19. Mojtaba Rahmandoust
20. Hamid Rasaii
21. Mehrdad Bazrpash
22. Hossein Tala
23. Elias Naderan
24. Ali Reza Mahjoub
25. Hossein Najabat 
One hundred and sixty-nine candidates were elected to the parliament for the first time. 
And 40 current MPs failed to win seats among whom are Assadollah Badamchian, Zohreh Elahian, Parviz Sorouri, Hossein Fadaii, Hassan Ghafourifard, Ali Abbaspour, Hamidreza Katouzian, Vali Esmaeili, Hossein Ebrahimi, Heshmatollah Falahatpishe, and Ali Adyani-Rad. 
According to the Persian service of ISNA, 9 female candidates were elected to the Majlis.

rssfeed socializeit
Socialize this
Subscribe to our RSS feed to stay in touch and receive all of TT updates right in your feed reader
Twitter Facebook Myspace Stumbleupon Digg Technorati aol blogger google reddit

Last Updated on 06 May 2012 12:35