Persian-speaking countries’ presidents to celebrate Noruz in Shiraz

February 2, 2010 - 0:0

TEHRAN -- Presidents of the Persian-speaking countries of Iran, Tajikistan and Afghanistan will be attending a Noruz celebration this year in Iran, Shiraz, the birth place of Hafez.

This will be the third trilateral meeting of Persian-speaking countries, said Iran’s Ambassador to Tajikistan Ali-Asghar Sherdust, the first and second were held in Tajikistan and Afghanistan respectively.
Sherdust noted that President Emomali Rahmon was invited by President Mahmoud Ahmadinjed during his recent trip to Tajikistan.
Noruz, the ancient celebration of the Iranian New Year that begins on the first day of spring, was registered on UNESCO’s List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity last September.
Iran, Azerbaijan, Uzbekistan, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkey, and Kyrgyzstan submitted their proposals to UNESCO for registration last registration.