Pakistan simplifies visa process for 48 countries including Iran

April 28, 2019 - 22:19

TEHRAN – Pakistan has simplified bureaucracy for travelers from 48 countries including Iran, rolling out a visa on arrival policy for diplomats and official passport holders, IRNA reported on Saturday.

According to a statement issued by Pakistan’s Interior Ministry, the new visa policy would permit nationals of at least 48 countries to come to in Pakistan on visa on arrival.

It relaxes restrictions for those holding the passports from Denmark, Egypt, Finland, Belgium, Brazil, Germany, Malaysia, Russia, Turkey, China, Sri Lanka, Australia and Denmark among others.

Iranians and a majority of other nationals are offered visas on arrival for three-month period, however, there are citizens including ones from Egypt and Azerbaijan who are entitled to gain 30-day visas.

The notification further revealed that citizens of the United States of America, the United Kingdom, Afghanistan and India will not be able to benefit from the policy amongst other nations, The News International reported.

“Prime Minister Imran Khan had earlier announced on March 13 that a visa on arrival policy will be rolling out for countries including UAE, Turkey, Malaysia and China,” the Pakistani website said.

Earlier in January, Islamabad’s Ambassador to Tehran Riffat Masood said that some 700,000 Pakistani pilgrims annually travel to Iran’s Mashhad to visit the holy shrine of Imam Reza (AS).

The envoy underlined that Tehran and Islamabad have put in a great deal of effort to facilitate air and land traveling to Mashhad, adding “Iran and Pakistan, in addition to having common borders, have many cultural heritage such as language, rituals and traditions in common.”