Persepolis crowned Iran Professional League champion

April 15, 2017 - 19:25

TEHRAN – Persepolis football team defeated Machine Sazi of Tabriz to win Iran Professional League (IPL) with three games to spare.

The Reds defeated strugglers Machine Sazi 2-0 in Tabriz’s Yadegare Emam Stadium.

Ali Alipour gave Persepolis a 1-0 lead just 29 seconds into the match.

Mehdi Taremi scored his 15th goal from the penalty spot in the 70th minute.  

Persepolis won the title for the third time in IPL founded in 2001.

This is the first time in the Iranian league a team win the title with three games left.

Persepolis became runner-up on goal difference last season.

With the result, Machine Sazi were relegated from the IPL as the first team.

Leave a Comment

4 + 4 =