Defending Press Freedom Association Convenes First Meeting

August 19, 1999 - 0:0
TEHRAN The association for defending freedom of press holding its first official meeting Wednesday elected 12 main and substitute members of its provisional central council. According to its statute the association is a non-governmental institute whose members, due to their cultural works, aim to defend freedom of press. Kambiz Norouzi, Akbar Ganji, Abdolali Rezaie, Ali Hekmat, Mohsen Kadivar, Mahmoud Shams-ul Vaezin, Hamidreza Jalaiepour, Gholamheidar Ebrahimbay Salami, Reza Tehrani, Ali Mazrooie, Faezeh Hashemi and Shadi Sadr were elected as members of the association's provisional central council.

Ebrahimbay Salami, Rahman Qolizadeh, Abdolali Rezaie, Ali Hekmat are the founding members of the association. This association comprises 65 associates as the founding members. (IRNA)