Rouhani set to name four new ministers

October 8, 2018 - 20:35

TEHRAN – President Hassan Rouhani is expected to introduce four new candidates to lead the ministries of industry, transport and urban development, labor, and economy to the parliament on Tuesday.

According to a report posted on ILNA website on Monday, Farhad Dejpasand is expected to be named as minister of economy; Reza Veyseh as minister of industry, mining and trade; Ali-Akbar Haj-Mohammadi as minister of transport and urban development; and Mohammad Shariatmadari as minister of labor and social welfare.

Dejpasand has a PhD in economy from Azad University and is currently an associate professor at Shahid Beheshti University’s School of Economics and Political Sciences.

He has served as deputy head of Iran’s Budget and Planning Organization under the Rouhani administration. He currently serves as the director of Center for Development and Foresight Studies of the Budget and Planning Organization.

Veyseh currently serves as deputy coordinator and supervisor of Vice President Es’haq Jahangiri. He served as chairman of the board of directors of the Industrial Development & Renovation Organization of Iran (IDRO) from 2000 to 2004.

Since 2009, Veyseh has been chairman of the board of directors of Sharif Foundation at Sharif University of Technology.

Haj-Mohammadi has been a senior advisor to the Budget and Planning Organization. He was appointed as director of Monitoring, Evaluation and Information Management of the Budget and Planning Organization by Mohammad Baqer Nobakht.

Holding a master’s degree in commercial management, Shariatmadari has been serving as minister of industry, mining and trade since August 2017. He had served as vice president for executive affairs since Rouhani took office in 2013.

Shariatmadari had also served as acting minister of sports and youth from October to November 2013. He was the minister of commerce from 1997 to 2005 under President Mohammad Khatami.

He became a member of Central Revolution Committee following the 1979 revolution. He is among the founders of the Intelligence Ministry and served as its deputy chief.


Leave a Comment

1 + 17 =