Iranian parliament votes to ban serving as MP for more than three terms in a row

March 3, 2019

TEHRAN - Iran’s parliament approved on Sunday a bill according to which MPs will not be allowed to run for parliament after three terms in a row.

To become law, the bill should be confirmed by the Guardian Council.

If endorsed, the MPs will not be allowed to be in parliament more than 12 consecutive years.

According to the bill, Ali Larijani, Ali Motahari, Masoud Pezeshkian, Alaeddin Boroujerdi, Nader Ghazipour and Javad Karimi Ghodoosi are among the MPs who cannot run for parliament in the next elections.


Leave a Comment

5 + 2 =