Persian Gulf sides discover fate at AFC Champions League

December 13, 2016 - 14:2

Persian Gulf teams Esteghlal Khuzestan, Persepolis, Zobahan and Esteghlal discovered their fate at the 2017 edition of the AFC Champions League on Tuesday.

The competition’s official draw held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Iran Professional League (IPL) reigning champion Esteghlal Khuzestan has been drawn in Group B along with Al Jazira of the UAE and Qatar’s Lekhwiya SC.

IPL runner-up Persepolis has been pitted with Saudi Arabia’s Al Hilal and Qatari Al Rayyan.

Zobahan, Iran’s Hazfi Cup titleholder, has been pitted against Al Ahli Saudi FC and UAE’s Al Ain FC in Group C.

Esteghlal is another Iranian representative in the competition which will play Al Sadd of Qatar in Play-off Stage.

Full ACL Draw

Group A
1. Al Ahli FC (UAE)
2. PFC Lokomotiv (UZB)
3. Al Taawoun (KSA) 
4. Play-off winner (IRN/QAT)

Group B
1. Esteghlal Khouzestan FC (IRN) 
2. Al Jazira (UAE)
3. Lekhwiya SC (QAT)
4. Play-off winner (KSA/UZB/BHR)

Group C
1. Al Ahli Saudi FC (KSA)
2. Zob Ahan FC (IRN)
3. Al Ain FC (UAE)
4. Play-off wnner (QAT/UZB)

Group D
1. Al Rayyan SC (QAT)
2. Al Hilal SFC (KSA)
3. Persepolis FC (IRN)
4. Play-off winner (UAE/JOR/IND)

Group E
1. Kashima Antlers (JPN) 
2. Muangthong United (THA)
3. Play-off winner (CHN/AUS/PHI/SIN)
4. Play-off winner (KOR/HKG/VIE)

Group F
1. FC Seoul (KOR)
2. Japan 2nd Club (JPN)
3. Western Sydney Wanderers (AUS)
4. Play-off winner (CHN/THA/MYA)

Group G
1. Guangzhou Evergrande FC (CHN)
2. Suwon Samsung Bluewings (KOR)
3. Japan 3rd Club (JPN)
4. Eastern SC (HKG)

Group H
1. Adelaide United (AUS)
2. Jiangsu FC (CHN)
3. Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors (KOR)
4. Play-off winner (JPN/THA/MAS)

AFC Champions League 2017 Preliminary Stage & Play-off Schedule

Preliminary Stage 2 (January 31, 2017)

PS 2.1 - Al Wehdat (JOR) v JSW Bengaluru FC (IND)
PS 2.2 - FC Nasaf (UZB) v Al Hidd Club (BHR)
PS 2.3 - Al Sadd SC (QAT) v Bye
PS 2.4 - FC Bunyodkor (UZB) v Bye

Play-off Stage (February 7, 2017)
Al Wahda (UAE) v Winner PS 2.1
Al Fateh FC (KSA) v Winner PS 2.2
Esteghlal FC (IRN) v Al Sadd SC (QAT)
El Jaish SC (QAT) v FC Bunyodkor (UZB)

Preliminary Stage 1 (January 24, 2017)

PS 1.1 - Hanoi T&T (VIE) v Bye
PS 1.2 - Johor Darul Ta’zim (MAS) v Bye
PS 1.3 - Yadanarbon FC (MYA) v Bye
PS 1.4 - Global FC (PHI) v Tampines Rovers FC (SIN)

Preliminary Stage 2 (January 31, 2017)
PS 2.1 - Kitchee (HKG) v Hanoi T&T (VIE)
PS 2.2 - Bangkok United (THA) v Johor Darul Ta’zim (MAS)
PS 2.3 - Sukhothai FC (THA) v Yadanarbon FC (MYA)
PS 2.4 - Brisbane Roar (AUS) v Winner PS 1.4

Play-off Stage (February 7, 2017)
Jeju United FC (KOR) v Winner PS 2.1
Japan 4th Club (JAP) v Winner PS 2.2
Shanghai SIPG FC (CHN) v Winner PS 2.3
Shanghai Shenhua FC (CHN) v Winner PS 2.4

Leave a Comment

6 + 7 =