Iran discover opponents at AFC Futsal Championship 2018

December 12, 2017

Reigning champions Iran, who have won the title 11 times, were drawn in Group C alongside Iraq, China PR and Myanmar in the AFC Futsal Championship 2018.

Three time winners Japan will have Uzbekistan, Korea Republic and Tajikistan for company in Group B. Japan last won the tournament with back-to-back titles in 2012-2014 with their first being in 2006.

ASEAN powerhouse Thailand will face off against Kyrgyz Republic, Lebanon and Jordan in Group D.

Thailand, who recently won the AFF Futsal Championship 2017, were runners-up in 2008 and 2012.

Vietnam, who finished fourth in Uzbekistan 2016, will face off against hosts Chinese Taipei, Malaysia and Bahrain in Group A.

The top two teams in each group will advance to the quarter-finals. The first matches will be played on February 1, 2018, with the final set for February 11.

The 15th edition of the AFC Futsal Championship will be played in Chinese Taipei.

Team Melli will kick off the competition with a match against Myanmar.

Leave a Comment

1 + 4 =