2021/22 IPL draw ceremony to be held on Oct. 2

September 29, 2021 - 15:2

TEHRAN –The draw ceremony for the 2021/2022 season of the Iran Professional League will be held on Oct. 2.

Head of The Football Federation of the Islamic Republic of Iran (FFIRI) Shahabeddin Azizi Khadem and the clubs’ representatives will attend the ceremony.

 A total of 16 teams will participate at the new season.

Persepolis are defending champions and look to win the IPL title for the sixth in a row.

Fajr Sepasi and Havadar will take part in the upcoming season as the newcomers after secured promotion to the league last season.

Machine Sazi and Saipa were also relegated from the IPL to the First Division.

Iran Professional League is the highest division of professional football in the west Asian country. It is the top-level football league in Iran since its foundation in 2001.

Since 2013, the league comprises 16 teams. The winners of IPL and Hazfi Cup automatically qualify for the AFC Champions League group stages. The runners-up and the third-place teams should participate at the AFC Champions League Play-off round.

Persepolis are the most successful club with seven titles in IPL and 14 in total.

Leave a Comment

0 + 0 =