Iran to Accede to Presidency of D-8 in February

December 3, 2003 - 0:0
TEHRAN (Mehr News Agency) – “The upcoming meeting of the D-8 member countries will convene in Tehran in February, during which Iran will accede to the group’s presidency,” Deputy Foreign Minister for Economic Affairs Seyed Mohammad Hossein Adeli said here on Monday.

“The eight Islamic countries Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan, and Turkey comprise the D-8 group. In its February session, the group will, among other issues, also discuss measures contributing to the facilitation of free economic and trade activities,” the Fars News Agency quoted Adeli as saying.

Referring to the role played by the Organization of the Islamic Conference (OIC) in promoting economic relations between Muslim countries, Adeli said that the OIC was basically founded with the aim of coordinating the positions of Muslim states in regard to Qods and the Palestinian issue, but the conference has recently taken economic issues into consideration, too.

Adeli noted that the Arab League is establishing a free trade zone and the (Persian) Gulf Cooperation Council plans to create a customs union.

The D-8, also known as the Developing 8, is a group tasked with encouraging development cooperation among members. It also makes efforts to boost social and economic relations between member states.