Tehran International Cartoon Biennial kicks off

November 20, 2007 - 0:0

TEHRAN -- The 8th Tehran International Cartoon Biennial commenced on November 19 at the Saba Art and Cultural Institute.

From a total of 5571 submitted works 650 have been selected to compete in the three categories of cartoons, comic strips and caricature.
Kambriz Derambakhsh, Tuka Neystani and Bahram Azimi are the Iranian members of the jury. Eduardo Baptistao from Brazil, Oleg Gutsol from Belarus and Romanian cartoonist Florian Doru Crihana are also on the jury.
Chinese veteran cartoonist Wu Jianjun is the guest of honor at the gala and Iranian renowned cartoonists Bahman Abdi and Mohammad-Rafi’ Ziaii will be honored on the sidelines of the event.
The top selected works of the biennial will be displayed at the Saba Art and Cultural Institute until December 13.
The biennial is sponsored by the Iranian House of Cartoons