Imran Khan sworn in as 22nd Pakistani PM

August 18, 2018 - 17:39

TEHRAN - Almost three weeks after emerging triumphant in the Pakistan general election, Pakistan Tehreek Insaf (PTI) chairperson Imran Khan was formally elected as the 22nd prime minister of Pakistan by the National Assembly on Friday. On Saturday, he took oath of office.

A total of 176 members of the National Assembly voted in favour of Khan while his opponent, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) president Shahbaz Sharif, received 96 votes.
The Pakistan People's Party (PPP), the third largest party in the House that joined the PML-N and other parties in an opposition alliance against Khan’s PTI, abstained from voting.
It was a foregone conclusion as Khan-led PTI had emerged as the single largest party in the July 25 election, although falling short of securing an absolute majority. Over the past three weeks, the party had been canvassing for seats to cobble together a coalition.

Imran, the former Pakistan cricket captain who took plunge into active politics more than two decades ago, commands massive following in Pakistan. But, the outcome of general election was marred by controversies related to vote rigging and manipulation.

“I am grateful to Almighty Allah and the nation for giving me the opportunity to bring a change which the nation wanted. The nation was longing for the change we will bring,” Khan said, vowing to ensure “strict accountability” and to bring back the looted wealth of the country.

Leave a Comment