Beijing Media Olympics to begin Thursday

October 7, 2009 - 0:0

TEHRAN - The first-ever World Media Summit (WMS), dubbed as the “media Olympics” will begin on Thursday, October 8, in Beijing.

A group of Iranian media figures will also participate in the meeting.
The Mehr News Agency (MNA), the Islamic Republic News Agency (IRNA) and the Islamic Republic of Iran Broadcasting (IRIB) will represent Iran at the two-day summit.
Parviz Esmaili, managing director of the MNA and the Tehran Times daily, Mohammad Jafar Behdad, IRNA managing director, are among the members of the Iranian delegate. The MNA and IRNA will present lectures at the meeting.
According to the summit secretariat, eight representatives will give speeches in the four panel sessions of the summit.
The MNA managing director will deliver his speech under the title of Opportunities and Threats in the Digital Age: A Prelude to Man’s Passage from Knowledge to Capability in the panel session of Group C.
Hosted by the Xinhua News Agency, the WMS will be held in the Great Hall of the People near the Beijing Hotel and the Grand Hotel Beijing, the residence for media delegates.
More than 170 media organizations are to participate in the event, including 40 Chinese government and media organizations and 132 overseas media.
About 300 media figures from around the world will discuss media’s current situation, assess the development trends of the global media industry on a series of crucial issues confronting media organizations against the backdrop of the international financial crisis, fast changing audience demands and the rapid advancement of emerging technologies.
Reuters, BBC, CNN, AP, Kyodo News Agency, Itar-Tass, Google, Wall Street Journal, NBC, CNBC, and New York Times, AFP and Le Figaro, DPA and EPA from Germany, the Middle East News Agency (MENA) from Egypt, the Trend News Agency from Azerbaijan as well as the Al Jazeera Satellite Network are among the media organizations participating in the event.
Media representatives from Bangladesh, Singapore, India, Pakistan, Thailand, Vietnam, Hungary, Yemen, Morocco, the Republic of Korea, Ethiopia, Saudi Arabia, Romania, Bulgaria, Brazil, Cuba, and Belarus will also take part in the summit