Khwarizmi Intl. Award announces winners

March 4, 2019

TEHRAN — The 32nd Khwarizmi International Award ceremony was held in Tehran on Monday announcing winners for their scientific achievements, IRIB reported.

The annual festival is an opportunity for both Iranian and foreign participants to put their scientific achievements on display. Khwarizmi International Award is dedicated to recognizing outstanding scientific achievements made by researchers, inventors and innovators from all over the world.

16 laureates, 10 from Iran and 6 from other countries, received their awards during the closing ceremony. 

In general some 271 research works from Iran as well as 111 from other countries in various categories of applied research, fundamental research, research and development, and invention and innovation were submitted. 

Fields of participation included aerospace, civil engineering, materials and metallurgy, agriculture, natural resources, animal sciences and veterinary medicine, electrical and computer, mechanics, basic sciences, green technology, mechatronics, biotechnology and basic medical sciences, industry and technology management, medical sciences, chemical technology, information technology and nanotechnology. 

Parviz Davami, university professor at Department of Materials Science and Engineering of Sharif University of Technology; Hossein Baharvand, professor at Royan Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Technology; and Dariush Talai, the iconic tar and setar player, are some of the Iranian laureates of the award. 

The six foreign accomplished researchers as laureates of the prestigious Khwarizmi International Award are: 

Prof. Habib Zaidi (Switzerland) for his paper on advanced hybrid imaging PET/MR system, Prof. John Yates (U.S.) for his paper on the study of proteins function using mass spectrometry and proteomics, Prof. Dongyuan Zhao (China) for his paper on the interfacial assembly and synthesis of ordered mesoporous materials for applications, Prof. George Chrousos (Greece) for his paper on the Biology and medicine of stress and stress-related disorders, Prof. Stephen Holgate (UK) for his paper on understanding the pathobiology of asthma and allied disorders, and Prof. Peidong Yang (U.S.) for his paper on semiconductor nanowire technology for energy conversion and storage.

Khwarizmi International Award

According to Khwarizmi official website, in 1987, the leading Iranian Research Organization for Science and Technology (IROST), affiliated to the Ministry of Science, Research and Technology, decided to institute an award, which acknowledges the Iranian outstanding achievements in the field of Science and Technology.

IROST proposed the creation of the Khwarizmi Award in memory of Abu Jafar Mohammad Ibn Mousa Khwarizmi, the great Iranian Mathematician and Astronomer (770-840 C.E).

The first session of the Khwarizmi Award, in 1987, called for Iranian nationals to present their outstanding contribution, invention or innovation.

Leave a Comment

6 + 4 =