Iran’s Shahrdari Varamin crowned Asian Club Volleyball champion

April 26, 2019 - 19:31

TEHRAN – Shahrdari Varamin from Iran claimed the title of the 2019 Asian Men's Club Volleyball Championship after edging past Japan’s Panasonic Panthers in the final match.

The Iranian team came back from two set deficits to beat Panthers (25–20, 25–16, 22–25, 20–25, 14–16) at the University of Taipei (Tianmu) Gymnasium on Friday.

“We are very happy because of winning the match. We had lost to Panthers in the early stage. We hope we can be a good representative for Iran in the FIVB Volleyball Men's Club World Championship,” Shahrdari Varamin coach Rahman Mohammadirad said.

The 2019 Asian Men's Club Volleyball Championship, an annual international volleyball club tournament, organized by the Asian Volleyball Confederation (AVC) with Chinese Taipei Volleyball Association (CTVA).

The tournament was held in Taipei, Chinese Taipei, from 18 to 26 April 2019.

Shahrdari Varamin will represent Iran at the 2019 FIVB Volleyball Men's Club World Championship.

Since the championship’s inception in 1999 in Hefei, China, Iran has made it to the final round for 15 editions. Their first debut final showdown dated back to 2000 in Suphanburi, Thailand, when they picked up silver medal after going down to Korea’s Samsung Fire.

Among these 15 editions where teams from Iran had made it to the final round, they captured 14 Asian Men’s Club Championship titles altogether – Paykan Tehran (7 titles), Sarmayeh Bank Tehran (2), Sanam Tehran (1), Kalleh Mazandaran (1), Matin Varamin (1), Khatam Ardakan (1) and Shahrdari Varamin (1).

Leave a Comment

5 + 4 =