Esteghlal Khuzestan crowned Iran Professional League champion

May 13, 2016

Esteghlal Khuzestan football team made history winning Iran Professional League for the first time in history.

The Ahvaz-based team defeated Zob Ahan 2-0 in Ahvaz’s Ghadir Stadium on Friday thanks to a brace from Rahim Mehdi Zohaivi.

Esteghlal Khuzestan, who dubbed as Iranian Leicester City, won the league title with 57 points from 30 games thanks to the better goal average ahead of Persepolis.

Persepolis beat Rah Ahan 2-1 in Tehran’s Azadi Stadium to level the points with Esteghlal Khuzestan but they finish second behind the Ahvaz-based club.

Ramin Rezaeian scored from the penalty spot in the 82nd minute and substitute Ahmad Nourollahi extended the lead three minutes later.

Mehrdad Mohammadi pulled a goal back in the 89th minute.

Elsewhere in Qom, Esteghlal was held to a 1-1 draw against Saba to finish in third with 52 points. Tractor Sazi thrashed Esteghlal Ahvaz 5-0 in Tabriz to finish in fourth with 51 points.

The top four teams will play in next year’s AFC Champions League while Malavan, Rah Ahan and Esteghlal Ahvaz were relegated to Azadegan League.

In the other matches, Foolad was held to a 1-1 draw against Gostaresh, the reigning champion Sepahan lost 2-1 to Padideh to finish in 11th place. Siah Jamegan beat Malavan 2-0 to escape the relegation while Saipa and Naft played out a goalless draw in Tehran’s Dastgerdi Stadium.


Leave a Comment

2 + 7 =