Persepolis lift Iran Professional League trophy

April 19, 2017 - 21:13

TEHRAN – Persepolis, who won Iran football league for the tenth time on Saturday with three games left, lifted the trophy in front of about 80,000 cheering fans in Tehran’s Azadi Stadium.

The Reds won the title after nine years after they became runner-up last season on goal difference.

Persepolis thrashed Padideh 4-0 to celebrate their 20th win in the league.

Two teams observed a minute's silence to pay respects to the victims of the northwest Iran floods, which killed 48 persons last week.

Kamal Kamyabinia gave Persepolis the lead in the 50th minute with a header. Ali Alipour made it 2-0 in the 68th minute and Mehdi Taremi was on target two minutes later.

Substitute Farshad Ahmadzadeh scored Persepolis’s fourth goal in the 89th minute.  

At the end of the match, Iranian Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs Masoud Soltanifar attended the medal ceremony.

Persepolis’s legends including Ali Parvin, Ahmadreza Abedzadeh, Reza Shahroudi and Mohammad Panjali watched the match from the stands.  

On Thursday, Tractor Sazi will host Esteghlal in a must-win match in Tabriz.

Leave a Comment

7 + 10 =