Foreign Ministry updates sanctions list of individuals involved in Gen. Soleimani’s assassination

January 8, 2022 - 21:30

TEHRAN — On Saturday afternoon, Iranian Foreign Ministry updated its list of counterterrorism designations over the American individuals involved in the assassination of Lieutenant General Qassem Soleimani.

The following is the statement released by the Foreign Ministry:

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Islamic Republic of Iran, in accordance with the “Act on Countering Violations of Human Rights and Adventurist and Terrorist Actions of the United States of America in the Region”, particularly, Articles 4 and 5, and in addition to the American individuals including Donald Trump[1], Michael Pompeo[2], John Bolton[3], Mark Esper[4], Gina Haspel[5], Christopher Miller[6] and Steven Mnuchin[7] and also Matthew Tueller[8], Steven Fagin[9] and Rob Waller[10] who were listed respectively on 19 January 2021 and 23 October 2020, identifies and imposes sanctions as set forth in the abovementioned Act on the following persons for the role they played in the terrorist act of the United States against Martyr General Qassem Soleimani and his companions, in glorification of terrorism and in violating the fundamental human rights. The said persons, as the case may be, have taken part in decision-making, organizing, financing, and carrying out the terrorist act or have otherwise justified terrorism which is a threat to international peace and security through supporting such egregious terrorist attacks.

It is reiterated that the United States by conducting the callous terrorist act has flagrantly breached its international legal obligations in countering terrorism and terrorism-financing, in particular, the obligation to refrain and desist from organizing and participating in terrorist acts and the obligation to respect, protect and fulfil human rights which constitute internationally wrongful acts entailing the international responsibility of the United States. As such, the Islamic Republic of Iran, in conformity and compliance with its human rights obligations and also duties in combating terrorism and countering terrorism financing, in particular the state terrorism perpetrated by the United States and to ensure international peace and security, imposes the sanctions as stipulated in the Act on the said persons on a reciprocal basis.   

The Islamic Republic of Iran underlines that the heinous terrorist act will not in any manner diminish the resolute determination and resolve of the Islamic Republic of Iran in following the path of the revered General Soleimani in fighting terrorism and terrorist groups, in particular, the U.S.-backed terrorist groups.

In the light of the above and taking into account the provisions of the “Act on Countering Violations of Human Rights and Adventurist and Terrorist Actions of the United States of America in the Region”, all relevant national authorities will take appropriate measures for effective implementation of the sanctions set forth in the Act.

[1] Former President of the United States

[2] Former United States Secretary of State

[3] Former United States National Security Advisor

[4] Former United States Secretary of Defense

[5] Former United States Director of Central Intelligence Agency

[6] Former US Acting Secretary of Defense

[7] Former United States Secretary of Treasury

[8] The United States Ambassador to Iraq

[9] Former Deputy Chief of the United States Embassy in Iraq

[10] The United States former consul-general in Erbil

Leave a Comment

0 + 0 =