Rafsanjani reappointed Expediency Council chairman

March 14, 2012 - 11:13
altTEHRAN – In a decree issued on Wednesday, Supreme Leader of the Islamic Revolution Ayatollah Seyyed Ali Khamenei appointed the members of the Expediency Council for a new five-year term. 
In the new decree Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani was reappointed the chairman of the Expediency Council. 
The heads of the three branches of government, Islamic jurists of the Guardian Council, the secretary of Supreme National Security Council, and minister, director of organization, or chairman of the Majlis committee to whom the issue that is being discussed at the council is related are legal persons on the council. 
Some prominent natural persons on the council are Ayatollah Ahmad Jannati, Ayatollah Vaez Tabasi, Ayatollah Mahmoud Hashemi Shahroudi, Hojjatoleslam Ali Akbar Nateq Nouri, Hojjatoleslam Hassan Rohani, Hojjatoleslam Qorban Ali Dorri Najafabadi, Hojjatoleslam Qolamreza Mesbahi-Moqaddam, Hojjatoleslam Majid Ansari, Mohammad Reza Bahonar, Gholam Ali Haddad-Adel, Hassan Habibi, Davoud Danesh-Jafari, Mohsen Rezaii, Mohammad Hossein Safar Harandi, Habibollah Asgaroladi, Mohammad Reza Aref, Hassan Firouzabadi, Ali Larijani, Morteza Nabavi, and Ali Akbar Velayati.  
Ayatollah Shahroudi, Hojjatoleslam Mahmoud Mohammadi-Eraqi, Hojjatoleslam Mesbahi-Moqaddam, Hossein Mohammadi,Sadeq Vaezzadeh, Ahmad Vahidi, and Safar Harandi are new figures who have been appointed to the council.    
Mir-Hossein Mousavi, Ayatollah Mohammad Emami Kashani, Hojjatoleslam Mohammad Reyshahri, Mohammad Hashemi, and Bijan Namdar Zanganeh have been removed from the council. 
In the decree, the Leader described the track record of the Expediency Council during its previous term as adequate and said that he is hopeful that the measures taken by the previous council would come to fruition and produce positive results for the country.