Iran beats U.S. to capture sixth straight Freestyle World Cup title

February 18, 2017 - 0:21

Winning the Freestyle Wrestling World Cup title for the sixth time in a row, Iran defeated USA in the 2017 final match, while Azerbaijan placed third with a victory over Turkey.

Four-time world medalist and Olympic bronze medal winner Hassan RAHIMI opened the dual meet against USA with a 6-0 victory over Anthony RAMOS.

Masoud ESMAEILPOUR had great performance after some absence in world level competitions as he downed 2016 world champion Logan STIEBER (USA) 6-2.

At 65kg, Olympic team member Meisam NASIRI (IRI) was in trouble in the match against Frank MOLINARO (USA) and came from behind to change a 4-0 loss to a 5-4 victory.

2012 Olympic champion Jordan BURROUGHS (USA) broke the consecutive wins streak of Iran, defeating Peyman YARAHMADI, 3-2, to earn the first victory for USA.

But the most surprising result came at 86kg, where David TAYLOR won the match against 2016 Olympic champion Hassan YAZDANI by fall.

YAZDANI had a good start and collected 4 points, but had a physical problem in the second round and was pinned by TAYLOR, which shocked the Iranian fans.

Olympic champion Kyle Kyle SNYDER (USA) kept the USA hopes alive as beat Amir MOHAMMADI (IRI), 6-0.

The team result was 4-3 and the 125kg match was decisive to determine the World Cup champion.

At 125kg, Komeil GHASEMI (IRI), a 2016 Olympic silver medalist, used his experience to defeat Nicholas GWIAZDOWSKI (USA) 5-0, to let the Iranian side to capture the World Cup title for the sixth time in a row.

In the third-place match, Azerbaijan came out strong, defeating Turkey 7-1.

Giorgi EDISHERASHVILI, Ali RAHIMZADE and Haji ALIYEV gave three consecutive wins to Azerbaijan, while Yakup GOR defeated David SUYNYUCHKHANOV, 10-2, to earn the first and only win for Turkey.

Murad SULEYMANOV, 2012 Olympic champion Sharif SHARIFOV, Aslanbek ALBOROV (AZE) and Jamaladdin MAGOMEDOV won their bouts to secure Azerbaijan victory over Turkey.

Final - IRAN (IRI) df. UNITED STATES (USA), 5-3 
57 kg - Hassan Sabzali RAHIMI (IRI) df. Anthony Joseph RAMOS (USA), 6-0
61 kg - Masoud Mahmoud ESMAEILPOORJOUYBARI (IRI) df. Logan Jeffery STIEBER (USA), 6-2
65 kg - Meisam Abolfazl NASIRI (IRI) df. Frank Aniello MOLINARO (USA), 5-4
70 kg - Mostafa Mohabbali HOSSEINKHANI (IRI) df. James Malcolm GREEN (USA), 2-0
74 kg - Jordan Ernest BURROUGHS (USA) df. Peyman Morteza YARAHMADI (IRI), 3-2
86 kg - David Morris TAYLOR III (USA) df. Hassan Aliazam YAZDANICHARATI (IRI) by FALL, 10-4
97 kg - Kyle SNYDER (USA) df. Amir MOHAMMADI (IRI), 6-0
125 kg - Komeil GHASEMI (IRI) df. Nicholas Edward GWIAZDOWSKI (USA), 5-0

Third Place - AZERBAIJAN (AZE) df. TURKEY (TUR),7-1 
57 kg - Giorgi EDISHERASHVILI (AZE) df. Sezar AKGUL (TUR), 8-7
61 kg - Ali RAHIMZADE (AZE) df. Cengizhan ERDOGAN (TUR) by forfeit, 0-0
65 kg - Haji ALIYEV (AZE) df. Safa AKSOY (TUR) by TF, 12-2
70 kg - Yakup GOR (TUR) df. David SUYNYUCHKHANOV (AZE), 10-2
74 kg - Murad SULEYMANOV (AZE) df. Islam KILIC (TUR), 5-0
86 kg - Sharif SHARIFOV (AZE) df. Selim YASAR (TUR), 2-1
97 kg - Aslanbek ALBOROV (AZE) df. Faruk AKKOYUN (TUR), 9-1
125 kg - Jamaladdin MAGOMEDOV (AZE) df. Salim ERCAN (TUR) by FALL, 4-0